Saturday Night Oldies with Big Cid–Remembering Charlie Watts

Good Day,

I’m quite aware that it is Tuesday and not Saturday. The tragic event of today would not let me wait until Saturday. i’m seldom this moved to do a midweek presentation no matter the event in the musical world however there are times when the shock is just too much for me. This is one of those times.

As I read this morning of the passing of Charlie Watts, the drummer for The Rolling Stones I’m left with a sense of loss. Not only do the Stones now have no bassist but they have no drummer.

I’m old enough to remember music before any “British Invasion”. I have the first 45 The Rolling Stones issued in the states. “Tell Me (You’re Coming Back to Me) I’ve seen them live over 40 years ago!

I know that The Rolling Stones were not ONLY “The Worlds’s greatest Rock and Roll Band” but they were also the best of all of the British Invasion Bands.

Herman’s Hermits, Gerry and The Pacemakers, The Who, Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas, The Beatles, The Dave Clark Five…..none were as good as The Rolling Stones!! What made them great was the rhythm section of Watts and Wyman. No other band could boast that and no other could compare.

And they are touring THIS YEAR!! 60 years after being formed as a band by Brian Jones.

Now half of that duo has passed on. Charlie has been silenced. Bill has quit the band for reasons I never did understand. ( I never wished to read his book “A Stone Alone” explaining why!)

As for their first US Single it is also one of their best songs ever. (and prob. one many never heard!)

Notice how the singers are singing in different keys? Or how the harmonic dissonance makes this work?Also notice what Charlie and Bill brought to this to drive this hit home.

But no more.

(As an aside in this post, done alone without Robert of Kimberly, I’m not focusing so much on the popularity of a song but rather Charlie’s drumming and the rhythm section altogether. There will be a better time to celebrate the hits of the band. This is also presented with no interruptions–Cid)

We come to an end of this tribute to Charlie Watts and really the rhythm section that was Charlie and Bill Wyman for so long. It may be fitting to includes “Start me Up”, one of the best drumming efforts of Charlie, And yet it seems to be in bad taste to do so. And while “The Last Time” would seem to be a good outro I have chosen something else as that too hit a bit close being disrespectful.

Many of you may not be Stone’s fans. I understand that. And yet I can’t let this moment go without this oldie post.

RIP Charlie

—Cid out

Outro—-

4 thoughts on “Saturday Night Oldies with Big Cid–Remembering Charlie Watts

  1. I feel incredibly lucky to have experienced the Rolling Stones in Houston on the No Filter tour July 2019. best day of my life! Charlie Watts was the bedrock that made it all happen. RIP 😢

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so glad that was something you got to experience first hand. There is no other experience like seeing the Stones live. I find it sad that they now have no rhythm section as they refuse to out a full bassist in place as a replacement for Bill Wyman.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment